Essay Competition 2017 Winners

We are pleased to announce the winner of our essay competition this year: Tamara McCallum from Leeds (nominated by Cristina Leston-Bandeira), with Callum Allison (nominated by Louise Thompson) as the runner-up. The winning essays were judged anonymously by our expert panel, and the winners will receive their certificates at our conference in autumn.

All of the essays were judged anonymously by a panel of senior academics and clerks: Michael Rush (Emeritus Professor of Politics at the University of Exeter), Meg Russell (Professor of British Politics and Director of the Constitution Unit at UCL) and Rebecca Davies (Clerk of the House of Commons Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Select Committee). In particular, the panel commended its originality and noted that it was very well written, had an interesting thesis and was based on a significant amount of research.

We would like to thank everyone that took part, and especially for the judging panel who gave up their time to read through all the entries we received this year.

We are also looking forward to holding this competition again next year with more entries, so please do look for a call in the autumn and spread the message far and wide!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s